print preview

The basis for altitude measurement in Switzerland

On the occasion of the bicentenary of the Repère Pierre du Niton in Geneva, the Territorial Department of the Republic and Canton of Geneva and the Federal Office of Topography swisstopo present to the Swiss public the history and current challenges of altitude measurement in Switzerland and around the world.

BildRPN2

In the 19th century, the reference point of the Swiss height system was defined at the level of the Pierres du Niton in the Rade de Genève. It was from this reference point that all other altitude points in Switzerland were measured and recorded on national maps. More than a commemoration, this bicentenary is an opportunity to make a wider public aware of the importance of setting international technical standards, of current and past surveying methods, and of the changing role of the federal and cantonal authorities in providing and guaranteeing the accuracy of height measurements.

All information on this commemoration can be found on the website of the State of Geneva, 373m6.ge.ch. Various supports such as an explanatory brochure are available for interested persons and schools. Similarly, a new information panel in the Rade de Genève informs visitors and tourists about the significance of the Pierres du Niton.


Federal Office of Topography swisstopo Seftigenstrasse 264
P.O. Box
3084 Wabern
Tel.
+41 58 469 01 11

E-mail


Relevant authority

Communication and Web
E-mail

Federal Office of Topography swisstopo

Seftigenstrasse 264
P.O. Box
3084 Wabern

Map

Show map

print preview

Der Ausgangspunkt für die Höhenmessung in der Schweiz

Anlässlich des Jubiläums 200 Jahre Repère Pierre du Niton in Genf zeigen das Bundesamt für Landestopografie swisstopo und das Departement für Raum-planung und Umwelt von Republik und Kanton Genf die Geschichte und die ak-tuellen Herausforderungen der Höhenmessung in der Schweiz und weltweit.

BildRPN2

Im 19. Jahrhundert wurde der Referenzpunkt des schweizerischen Höhenmesssystems auf der Höhe der Pierres du Niton im Seebecken von Genf festgelegt. Von diesem Referenzpunkt aus wurden alle anderen Höhenpunkte in der Schweiz gemessen und in die Landeskarten eingetragen. Das Jubiläum  200 Jahre Repère Pierre du Niton bietet eine Gelegenheit, einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit die Bedeutung der Festlegung internationaler technischer Standards, aktueller und vergangener Vermessungsmethoden und der sich wandelnden Rolle der Bundes- und Kantonsbehörden bei der Bereitstellung und Gewährleistung der Genauigkeit von Höhenmessungen bewusst zu machen.

Alle Informationen zu dieser Gedenkfeier finden Sie auf der Website des Staates Genf, 373m6.ge.ch. Für Interessierte und Schulen stehen verschiedene Hilfsmittel wie beispielsweise eine erklärende Broschüre zur Verfügung. Außerdem informiert eine neue Informationstafel im Seebecken von Genf Besucher und Touristen über die Bedeutung der Pierres du Niton.
 


Bundesamt für Landestopografie swisstopo Seftigenstrasse 264
Postfach
3084 Wabern
Tel.
+41 58 469 01 11

E-Mail


Zuständige Stelle

Kommunikation und Web
E-Mail

Bundesamt für Landestopografie swisstopo

Seftigenstrasse 264
Postfach
3084 Wabern

Karte

Karte ansehen