Swiss Geological Survey

The Swiss Geological Survey at swisstopo is the federal competence centre for the collection, analysis, storage and provision of geological data. It prepares the decision-making bases for shaping our living space and requires an appreciation for our landscape.

As the unit of the federal administration responsible for earth sciences, the Swiss Geological Survey focuses on the organisation of geological studies of the country (geology, geotechnics and geophysics), procuring the necessary data for this purpose and developing geological maps and models. Its tasks also include the publication of reports, recommendations and guidelines in the field of applied geology (engineering and environmental geology).

The Swiss Geological Survey coordinates Swiss geological activities with the cantons, the private sector and universities. It operates the Mont Terri rock laboratory and participates in research aimed at characterising Opalinus Clay as the host rock for the disposal of radioactive waste.  

The Geological Survey collaborates closely together with a variety of specialised associations and organisations, including the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT), the Georesources Switzerland Group, the Swiss Geophysical Commission (SGPK), the Federal Geological Commission (FGC) and various private-sector bodies (CHGEOL, GEOTHERMIE.CH, etc.)

Tasks

The tasks of the Swiss Geological Survey are as follows:

  • Provision and updating of geological, geotechnical and geophysical bases for sustainable development: field studies, measurements, acquisition and processing of data, standards, recommendations and information for the general public.
  • Acting as the country’s competence centre for the comprehensive provision of fundamental data of national importance in the area of geology. Coordinating the involved players and specifying the strategies for the collection and provision of basic geological data.
  • Acting as national information centre and federal authority in the area of geology, and as contact point for international issues.
  • Operation of a rock laboratory and support for the search for a suitable site for a deep geological repository for radioactive waste.
  • Operation of the secretariat of the Federal Geological Commission.

Organisation

The Swiss Geological Survey comprises the following four processes:

  • Administrative unit
  • Data management and geoenergy
  • National geological mapping and raw materials
  • Rock laboratory and deep geological disposal


Federal Office of Topography swisstopo Seftigenstrasse 264
P.O. Box
3084 Wabern
Tel.
+41 58 469 01 11

E-mail


Relevant authority

Swiss Geological Survey
Tel. +41 58 469 05 68
E-mail


Print contact

Federal Office of Topography swisstopo

Seftigenstrasse 264
P.O. Box
3084 Wabern

Map

Show map

Landesgeologie

Die Landesgeologie bei swisstopo ist das Kompetenzzentrum des Bundes für die Erhebung, Analyse, Lagerung und Bereitstellung geologischer Daten. Sie erstellt die Entscheidungsgrundlagen für die Gestaltung unseres Lebensraums und fördert das Verständnis für unsere Landschaft.

Als erdwissenschaftliche Fachstelle des Bundes befasst sich der Bereich Landesgeologie mit  der Organisation der geologischen Landesuntersuchung (Geologie, Geotechnik, Geophysik), der Beschaffung der dafür notwendigen Daten sowie deren Kompilation und Umsetzung in geologische Modelle und Karten. Sie ist auch mit der Herausgabe von Berichten, Empfehlungen und Richtlinien auf dem Gebiet der angewandten Geologie (Ingenieurgeologie, Umweltgeologie) beauftragt.

Die Landesgeologie koordiniert die Schweizer Geologie-Szene mit Kantonen, Behörden und Hochschulen. Sie betreibt das Felslabor Mont Terri und beteiligt sich an der Forschung  zur Charakterisierung von Opalinus-Ton als Wirtsgestein für die Lagerung von radioaktiven Abfällen.  

Die Landesgeologie pflegt die Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Fachverbänden und Organisationen; z.B. mit der Akademie der Naturwissenschaften Schweiz SCNAT, der Fachgruppe Georessourcen Schweiz, der Schweizerische Geophysikalische Kommission SGPK, der Eidgenössischen Geologischen Fachkommission EGK und Privaten (CHGEOL, GEOTHERMIE.CH etc).

Aufgaben

Der Bereich Landesgeologie hat folgende Aufgaben:

  • Bereitstellung und Nachführung von geologischen, geotechnischen und geophysikalischen Grundlagen für die nachhaltige Entwicklung: Feldaufnahme, Messung, Akquisition und Bearbeitung der Daten, Studien, Standards, Empfehlungen sowie Informationen für die Öffentlichkeit.
  • Kompetenzzentrum für die flächendeckende Bereitstellung von Grundlagen von nationaler Bedeutung auf dem Gebiete der Geologie. Koordination der Akteure und Bestimmen von Strategien der Grundlagenerhebung und -bereitstellung auf diesem Gebiet.
  • Nationale Informationszentrale und Fachbehörde des Bundes für Geologie sowie  Ansprechpartner in internationalen Belangen.
  • Betrieb eines Felslabors und Unterstützung einer nachhaltigen Lösung eines geologischen Tiefenlagers.
  • Führen des Sekretariates der Eidgenössischen Geologischen Kommission.

Organisation

Zum Bereich Landesgeologie gehören die folgenden vier Prozesse:

  • Stab
  • Datenmanagement und Geoenergie
  • Geologische Landesaufnahme und Rohstoffe (externe Mitarbeitende)
  • Felslabor und geologische Tiefenlager


Bundesamt für Landestopografie swisstopo Seftigenstrasse 264
Postfach
CH-3084 Wabern
Tel.
+41 58 469 01 11

E-Mail


Zuständige Stelle

Landesgeologie
Tel. +41 58 469 05 68
E-Mail


Kontakt drucken

Bundesamt für Landestopografie swisstopo

Seftigenstrasse 264
Postfach
CH-3084 Wabern

Karte

Karte ansehen