Organisation of swisstopo

The Federal Office of Topography “measures” Switzerland. It surveys and documents the landscape and the underground, and produces high-quality spatially-referenced geodata. Its most important products include landscape and height models, aerial images, orthophotos, geological data and maps, reference data and of course the well-known series of national maps.

The Federal Office of Topography swisstopo is Switzerland’s geoinformation centre. We supply accurate, up-to-date and reliable basic information for surveying Switzerland, collecting data on the landscape and subsoil and documenting this over time. With swisstopo, every location in Switzerland can be precisely determined to the last centimetre. swisstopo thus fulfils a federal task.

Our products include national maps, elevation and landscape models, aerial photographs, orthophotos, geological data and maps or applications on the Internet, as well as on mobile devices. The federal government’s map viewer at map.geo.admin.ch is a particularly important element.

The legal basis for swisstopo’s activities is the Federal Geoinformation Act. In addition to developing products, swisstopo is also responsible for coordinating activities relating to geoinformation and geology at the federal level, as well as for managing the Institute for Military Geography. Furthermore, it is responsible for the supervision of the cadastral survey and the Cadastre of public-law restrictions on landownership (PLR Cadastre), as well as for supervising the coordination of Swiss geodata in cooperation with the cantons, municipalities and the private sector.   

Organisation chart swisstopo

The organizational structure of swisstopo includes six divisions:

  • Topography
  • Cartography 
  • Geodesy and Federal Directorate of Cadastral Surveying
  • COGIS (Coordination, Geoinformation and Services)
  • Swiss Geological Survey 
  • Support
     

The directorate (with the Communication and Web, Legal Services and Administrative Unit Management) is managed by the director.

The Director is in charge of the office and assumes the general responsibility. One of the heads of a division assumes the function of Deputy Director and is in charge during the director's absence. He also takes over particular tasks to unburden the Director. The management together with the Director is responsible for the strategic management of the office. The management process is responsible for the operative management of the office and for assigning tasks to the management or the divisions.

Competence centers assure the coordination between the different divisions:

  • National Point of Contact (NPOC) for Satellite Images in Switzerland;
  • Rapid mapping to prepare geoinformation in the case of extraordinary events
  • The Institute for Military Geography  forms the interface between swisstopo and the DDPS for requirements for geographical and map data in Switzerland and abroad.

The Director

Fridolin Wicki is head of the Federal Office of Topography swisstopo

Topography

The Topography Division is responsible for the topographic mapping of Switzerland and adjacent parts of its neighbouring countries. In this way it provides other authorities, political bodies, the...

Coordination, Geo-Information and Services (COGIS)

The Coordination, Geo-Information and Services (COGIS) Division is responsible for coordinating the activities of the federal administration in the areas of geoinformation and geoinformation systems....

Support Divison

The Support Division assists the Board of Management on questions of strategic and operational management and provides services for the benefit of the personnel in the expert areas of finance,...

Committees and commissions

swisstopo is responsible for operating the secretariats of two extra-parliamentary commissions allocated to the Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport (DDPS). It also operates or...

Survey

The Divison of «Geodesy and Federal Directorate of Cadastral Surveying» (or «Surveying Division» for short) is the federal authority responsible for the combined tasks of official cadastral surveying...

Cartography

The Cartography Division is responsible for the analogue and digital cartographic depiction of the earth’s surface and its coverage in Switzerland and adjacent parts of its neighbouring countries on...

Swiss Geological Survey

The Swiss Geological Survey at swisstopo is the federal competence centre for the collection, analysis, storage and provision of geological data. It prepares the decision-making bases for shaping our...

Institute for Military Geography

swisstopo manages the Institute for Military Geography on behalf of the department of defenceand is official representative of Switzerland abroad. In this function swisstopo is authorised to conduct...


Federal Office of Topography swisstopo Seftigenstrasse 264
P.O. Box
3084 Wabern
Tel.
+41 58 469 01 11
Fax
+41 58 469 04 59

E-mail


Opening hours

Monday to Thursday
7.45 to 11.45 a.m.
1.30 to 5 p.m.
Friday
7.45 to 11.45 a.m.
1.30 to 4 p.m.


Map collection – enquiries by phone:

Mondays and Thursdays
10 to 11.45 a.m.


Print contact

Federal Office of Topography swisstopo

Seftigenstrasse 264
P.O. Box
3084 Wabern

Map

Show map

Organisation swisstopo

L’Office fédéral de topographie swisstopo « mesure » la Suisse. Il relève et documente le paysage et le sous-sol et met à disposition des données géospatiales de haute qualité. Les produits importants sont les modèles altimétriques et du territoire, les photos aériennes, les orthophotos, les données et cartes géologiques, les données de référence et bien évidemment les cartes nationales bien connues.

L’Office fédéral de topographie swisstopo est le centre de géoinformation de la Suisse. Nous fournissons des bases précises, actuelles et fiables pour la mensuration en Suisse, nous effectuons des prélèvements dans le paysage et les sols et nous les documentons dans le temps. Avec swisstopo, chaque site en Suisse peut être déterminé au centimètre près. swisstopo remplit ainsi une tâche de la Confédération.

Parmi nos produits figurent des cartes nationales, des modèles altimétriques et des modèles de paysage, des vues aériennes, des orthophotos, des données géologiques et des cartes ou des applications sur Internet ainsi que sur des appareils mobiles. Le visualiseur de cartes de la Confédération, map.geo.admin.ch, en constitue notamment un élément important.

La base légale pour les travaux de swisstopo est la loi sur les géoinformations. Outre la création des produits, swisstopo dirige la coordination des géoinformations et de la géologie au niveau fédéral, et gère l'Institut géographique militaire. swisstopo assume la surveillance de la mensuration officielle et du cadastre des restrictions de droit public à la propriété foncière (Cadastre RDPPF) et, en collaboration avec les cantons, les communes et le secteur privé, coordonne l'harmonisation des géodonnées suisses.  

Organigramme swisstopo

La structure organisationnelle comporte six domaines:

  • Topographie
  • Cartographie
  • Mensuration
  • Coordination, Services et Informations Géographiques (COSIG)
  • Service géologique national
  • Support
     

La Direction (avec les ressorts Communication et Web, Service juridique, et État major direction) est placée sous la responsabilité du Directeur.

Le Directeur est responsable de la conduite de l'office et en assume la responsabilité générale. L’un des responsables de domaines assure, en qualité de Directeur suppléant, la conduite de l'office en l’absence du Directeur ainsi que la réalisation de tâches particulières afin de décharger ce dernier. La Direction est responsable, en collaboration avec le Directeur, de la conduite stratégique de l’office. Le Comité de direction est responsable de la gestion opérationnelle de l’office et de l’attribution des activités à la direction ou aux domaines.

Des centres de compétence assurent la coordination entre les différents domaines:

  • National Point of Contact (NPOC) pour images satellite de Suisse;
  • Cartographie rapide («rapid mapping») pour la préparation de géoinformations en cas d’événements exceptionnels
  • L’Institut géographique militaire est l’interface entre swisstopo et le DDPS et répond aux besoins en géodonnées et données cartographiques en Suisse comme à l’étranger. 

Le directeur

Fridolin Wicki dirige l’Office fédéral de topographie swisstopo

Topographie

Le domaine Topographie est responsable du levé des données topographiques en Suisse et dans des zones limitrophes. Il fournit aux autres administrations, aux autorités politiques, à l'économie et au...

Coordination, Services et Informations Géographiques (COSIG)

Le domaine COSIG coordonne les activités de l’administration fédérale dans le domaine de l’information géographique (IG) et des systèmes d’information géographique (SIG).

Domaine du support

Le domaine du support appuie la direction de l'office pour tout ce qui touche à la conduite stratégique et opérationnelle et fournit des prestations pour le personnel dans les domaines des finances...

Commissions et instances

swisstopo est responsable du secrétariat dans deux commissions extraparlementaires, qui sont assignées par le Département fédéral de la défense, de la protection de la population et des sports DDPS....

Mensuration

Le domaine «Géodésie et Direction fédérale des mensurations cadastrales» (domaine Mensuration en abrégé) est le service spécialisé de la Confédération pour les deux tâches communes «mensuration...

Cartographie

Le domaine Cartographie est responsable de la représentation cartographique analogique et numérique de la surface terrestre et de sa couverture en Suisse et dans les régions étrangères limitrophes à...

Service géologique national

Le Service géologique national de swisstopo est l’organe de la Confédération spécialisé dans le relevé, l’analyse, le stockage de données géologiques de base et leur mise à disposition. Il établit...

Institut géographique militaire

swisstopo exploite, sur ordre du domaine départemental de la Défense, l‘Institut géographique militaire et est le représentant officiel de la Suisse vis-à-vis de l’étranger. swisstopo est habilité...


Office fédéral de topographie swisstopo Seftigenstrasse 264
Case postale
3084 Wabern
Tél.
+41 58 469 01 11
Fax
+41 58 469 04 59

E-mail


Nos heures d'ouverture

Lundi - Jeudi
07:45 - 11:45
13:30 - 17:00
Vendredi
07:45 - 11:45
13:30 - 16:00


Horaire téléphonique de la cartothèque

Lundi et jeudi
10:00 - 11:45
Tél. +41 58 469 01 11


Imprimer contact

Office fédéral de topographie swisstopo

Seftigenstrasse 264
Case postale
3084 Wabern

Carte

Voir la carte