Swiss Geological Survey

The Swiss Geological Survey at swisstopo is the federal competence centre for the collection, analysis, storage and provision of geological data. It prepares the decision-making bases for shaping our living space and requires an appreciation for our landscape.

As the unit of the federal administration responsible for earth sciences, the Swiss Geological Survey focuses on the organisation of geological studies of the country (geology, geotechnics and geophysics), procuring the necessary data for this purpose and developing geological maps and models. Its tasks also include the publication of reports, recommendations and guidelines in the field of applied geology (engineering and environmental geology).

The Swiss Geological Survey coordinates Swiss geological activities with the cantons, the private sector and universities. It operates the Mont Terri rock laboratory and participates in research aimed at characterising Opalinus Clay as the host rock for the disposal of radioactive waste.  

The Geological Survey collaborates closely together with a variety of specialised associations and organisations, including the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT), the Georesources Switzerland Group, the Swiss Geophysical Commission (SGPK), the Federal Geological Commission (FGC) and various private-sector bodies (CHGEOL, GEOTHERMIE.CH, etc.)

Tasks

The tasks of the Swiss Geological Survey are as follows:

  • Provision and updating of geological, geotechnical and geophysical bases for sustainable development: field studies, measurements, acquisition and processing of data, standards, recommendations and information for the general public.
  • Acting as the country’s competence centre for the comprehensive provision of fundamental data of national importance in the area of geology. Coordinating the involved players and specifying the strategies for the collection and provision of basic geological data.
  • Acting as national information centre and federal authority in the area of geology, and as contact point for international issues.
  • Operation of a rock laboratory and support for the search for a suitable site for a deep geological repository for radioactive waste.
  • Operation of the secretariat of the Federal Geological Commission.

Organisation

The Swiss Geological Survey comprises the following four processes:

  • Administrative unit
  • Data management and geoenergy
  • National geological mapping and raw materials
  • Rock laboratory and deep geological disposal


Federal Office of Topography swisstopo Seftigenstrasse 264
P.O. Box
3084 Wabern
Tel.
+41 58 469 01 11

E-mail


Relevant authority

Swiss Geological Survey
Tel. +41 58 469 05 68
E-mail


Print contact

Federal Office of Topography swisstopo

Seftigenstrasse 264
P.O. Box
3084 Wabern

Map

Show map

Service géologique national

Le Service géologique national de swisstopo est l’organe de la Confédération spécialisé dans le relevé, l’analyse, le stockage de données géologiques de base et leur mise à disposition. Il établit les bases de décision pour un aménagement de notre espace de vie et favorise la compréhension de notre paysage.

En tant que service compétent de la Confédération pour ce qui concerne la géologie, le Service géologique national est responsable du relevé (géologie, géotechnique, géophysique), de la collecte des données nécessaires ainsi que de leur compilation et transformation en cartes et modèles géologiques. Il est également chargé de la publication de rapports, recommandations et directives liées à la géologie appliquée (génie géologique, géologie de l'environnement).

Le Service géologique national coordonne la scène géologique suisse avec les cantons, le secteur privé et les écoles supérieures. Il exploite le laboratoire souterrain Mont Terri et participe à la recherche pour la caractérisation de l'argile à Opalinus en tant que roche d'accueil pour l’entreposage des déchets radioactifs en couches géologiques profondes.

Le Service géologique national collabore avec diverses associations spécialisées et organisations; par ex. l'Académie Suisse des Sciences Naturelles SCNAT, le Groupe géoressources suisses, la Commission suisse de géophysique SGPK, la Commission Fédérale de Géologie EGK et le secteur privé (CHGEOL, GEOTHERMIE.CH etc.).

Tâches

Le Service géologique national est chargé des tâches suivantes :

  • Mise à disposition et mise à jour des données de base géologiques, géotechniques et géophysiques pour le développement durable : relevés de terrain, mesures, acquisition et traitement de données, études, normes, recommandations ainsi que des informations pour le public.
  • Centre de compétences pour la mise à disposition sur tout le territoire de données géologiques de base d'importance nationale. Coordination des acteurs et détermination de stratégies de collecte de données de base et leur mise à disposition.
  • Centrale d'informations nationale et autorité fédérale spécialisée pour la géologie et interlocuteur dans les intérêts internationaux.
  • Exploitation d'un laboratoire souterrain et soutien d'une solution durable pour l’entreposage en couches géologiques profondes.
  • Direction du secrétariat de la Commission Fédérale de Géologie.

Organisation

Les quatre processus suivants font partie du Service géologique national :

  • Etat-major
  • Gestion des données et géoénergie
  • Relevé géologique national et matières premières (collaborateurs externes)
  • Laboratoire souterrain et dépôts en couches géologiques profondes  


Office fédéral de topographie swisstopo Seftigenstrasse 264
CH-3084 Wabern
Tél.
+41 58 469 01 11

E-mail


Domaine compétent

Service géologique national
Téléphone : +41 58 469 05 68
E-mail


Imprimer contact

Office fédéral de topographie swisstopo

Seftigenstrasse 264
CH-3084 Wabern

Carte

Voir la carte